Tips

Discussion in 'Other PIMD Discussion' started by Wesday, Jul 2, 2019.

1. Tell me your thoughts on tipping culture. Do you tip? Who do you tip, how much, what is your opinion on it.

2. I tip $5 minimum if it's low quality service. My boyfriend and I go out to this sushi place for dates and we get the same waitress all the time, so we've made a really great relationship with her and it's always a good experience if she's working that day. We tip her a good $15-20 each time we visit.

3. I tip entirely depending on service, so even if the quality of the food was great I personally don’t tip more that 10% unless the waiter actually made an effort to say something nice.

I feel like this sounds a bit lame, but I’m a college student 🥺 I can’t tip everyone.

Wesday likes this.
  4. In most Asian cultures, tipping is not custom. (Some would even feel weirded out by tipping, and ask you why lol) In some cases the establishment will charge you service fee added to your bill.

I liked getting tips when I was bartending back in uni, but I don’t have any preference really.

Jaey likes this.
  5. Oh yes! It’s like this in Japan. In some areas when I visited, they even can get a bit offended by tipping.

Jaey likes this.
  6. My mom worked as a hairdresser for 26 years. We, as a family, relied heavily on her tips as that's where the bulk of her income came from.

I tip at least 20%, but usually closer to probably 33% of the bill, regardless of how I feel about the service I received.

I tip waitstaff mostly. I encourage people to tip their hairdressers although I personally have not seen a hairdresser other than my mom, and I don't need to tip my mom.

My job receives tips, although we don't get them very often. The professional groomer gets most of the tips instead of regular staff members.